MACSI Seminar Series

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UL

Autumn Semester 2014


The MACSI seminars are held in the Mathematics and Statistics department at the University of Limerick. They take place in the MACSI meeting room A2002, Main Building, Fridays at 4 p.m. unless stated otherwise. An overhead projector and projection equipment are available in the seminar room.

Speakers may direct queries to their immediate contact person or the MACSI administrator (peg.hanrahan@ul.ie). There is visitor car-parking available on campus: speakers can either advise their contact person who will make a reservation or email (VisitorParking@ul.ie) directly.


Friday 19th September:
Prof. James Freemyer (Indiana Wesleyan University, visiting the University of Limerick on a Fulbright grant, Jim.Freemyer@indwes.edu)
Title: A Search for More Effective Research-Based Second Level Pedagogy (abstract)
(Contact: john.odonoghue@ul.ie)

Friday 26th September:
Prof. Sebastian Wieczorek (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCC, sebastian.wieczorek@ucc.ie)
Title: Rate-induced bifurcations: critical rates, non-obvious thresholds, and adaptation failure (abstract)
(Contact: natalia.kopteva@ul.ie)

Friday 3rd October:
Dr. Miguel Bustamante (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCD, miguel.bustamante@ucd.ie)
Title: Robust energy transfer mechanism via precession resonance in nonlinear turbulent wave systems (abstract)
(Contact: ricardo.barros@ul.ie)

Friday 10th October:
Dr. Dan Lucas (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCD, dan.lucas@ucd.ie)
Title: Recurrent flows embedded in 2D turbulence (abstract)
(Contact: eugene.benilov@ul.ie)

Friday 17th October:
Prof. Steven Gabriel (Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Maryland, USA, sgabriel@umd.edu)
Title: Discretely-Constrained Nash Equilibria (abstract)
(Contact: mel.devine@ul.ie)

Friday 24th October:
Dr. Charles Holland, charles.j.holland@gmail.com)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: stephen.obrien@ul.ie)

Friday 31st October:
Prof. Bartek A Glowacki (Department of Physics and Energy, UL, bartek.glowacki@ul.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: william.lee@ul.ie)

Friday 7th November:
Prof. Idris Eckley (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Lancaster, UK, i.eckley@lancaster.ac.uk)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: kevin.hayes@ul.ie)

Friday 14th November:
Dr. Michelle Dillon (forecaster at Met Eireann, mich.dillon@gmail.com)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 21st November:
Dr. Lennon O'Naraigh (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCD, onaraigh@maths.ucd.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: ricardo.barros)

Friday 28th November:
Prof. Erkki Somersalo (Department of Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics, Case Western Reserve University, erkki.somersalo@case.edu)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: romina.gaburro@ul.ie)

Friday 5th December:
Prof. John Ockendon (Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, UK, John.Ockendon@maths.ox.ac.uk)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: henry.winstanley@ul.ie)

Friday 12th December:
Prof. Abdul Barakat (Ecole Polytechnique, Universite Paris-Saclay, barakat@ladhyx.polytechnique.fr)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: tuoi.vo@ul.ie)


Supported by Science Foundation Ireland funding, MACSI - the Mathematics Applications Consortium for Science and Industry, centred at the University of Limerick, is dedicated to the mathematical modelling and solution of problems which arise in science, engineering and industry in Ireland.