MACSI Seminar Series

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UL

Spring Semester 2014


The MACSI seminars are held in the Mathematics and Statistics department at the University of Limerick. They take place in the MACSI meeting room A2002, Main Building, Fridays at 4 p.m. unless stated otherwise. An overhead projector and projection equipment are available in the seminar room.

Speakers may direct queries to their immediate contact person or the MACSI administrator (peg.hanrahan@ul.ie). There is visitor car-parking available on campus: speakers can either advise their contact person who will make a reservation or email (VisitorParking@ul.ie) directly.

Friday 31st January:
AT 2pm
Dr. Petra Vertes (Brain Mapping Unit (BMU), Cambridge University, UK, pv226@cam.ac.uk)
Title: Modelling Brain Networks (abstract)
(Contact: davide.cellai@ul.ie)

Friday 7th February:
Dr. Mark McGuinness (School of Mathematics, Statistics and Operations Research, Victoria University of Wellington, NZ, mark.mcguinness@vuw.ac.nz )
Title: Dusty Shock Tubes (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 21st February:
Dr. Pedro Caro (Department of Mathematics, University of Helsinki, Finland, pedro.caro@helsinki.fi)
Title: Stability of the Calderón problem for less regular conductivities (abstract)
(Contact: clifford.nolan@ul.ie)

Friday 28th February:
Dr. Jim Duggan (College of Engineering & Informatics, NUIG, jim.duggan@nuigalway.ie)
Title: System Dynamics for Healthcare Policy Analysis (abstract)
(Contact: joanna.mason@ul.ie)

Friday 7th March:
Joe Wheatley (Biospherica Risk Ltd, Clare, joe@joewheatley.net)
Title: Statistical modelling of crop yields (abstract)
(Contact: kevin.obrien@ul.ie)

Friday 21st March:
Giovanni S. Alberti (Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, UK, Giovanni.Alberti@maths.ox.ac.uk)
Title: Using multiple frequencies to satisfy local constraints in PDE and applications to hybrid problems (abstract)
(Contact: romina.gaburro@ul.ie)

Friday 28th March:
Prof. Cathal Walsh (Trinity College Dublin, cathal.walsh@tcd.ie)
Title: Bayesian approaches to Health Decision Science (abstract)
(Contact: kevin.hayes@ul.ie)

Friday 4th April:
Dr. Steve Prestwich (Computer Science Department, UCC, s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie)
Title: Exploiting Symmetry in Stochastic and Robust Optimisation for Disaster Planning (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 11th April:
Dr. Sean Holman (School of Mathematics, University of Manchester, UK, sean.holman@manchester.ac.uk)
Title: The geodesic X-ray transform (abstract)
(Contact: romina.gaburro@ul.ie)

Friday 25th April:
NOTE: at 3pm
Prof. Nico Gray (School of Mathematics, University of Manchester, UK, nico.gray@manchester.ac.uk)
Title: A hierarchy of particle-size segregation models: From polydisperse mixtures to depth-averaged theories (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 9th May:
Dr. Dana Mackey (School of Mathematical Sciences, Dublin Institute of Technology, dana.mackey@dit.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: tuoi.vo@ul.ie)


Supported by Science Foundation Ireland Mathematics Initiative funding, MACSI - the Mathematics Applications Consortium for Science and Industry, centred at the University of Limerick, is dedicated to the mathematical modelling and solution of problems which arise in science, engineering and industry in Ireland.