MACSI Seminar Series

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UL

Spring Semester 2015


The MACSI seminars are held in the Mathematics and Statistics department at the University of Limerick. They take place in the MACSI meeting room A2002, Main Building, Fridays at 4 p.m. unless stated otherwise. An overhead projector and projection equipment are available in the seminar room.

Speakers may direct queries to their immediate contact person or the MACSI administrator (peg.hanrahan@ul.ie). There is visitor car-parking available on campus: speakers can either advise their contact person who will make a reservation or email (VisitorParking@ul.ie) directly.


Friday 30th January:
Prof. Alex Bentley (Department of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of Bristol, UK, R.A.Bentley@bristol.ac.uk)
Title: Neutral social learning and collective behaviour. (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Thursday 5th February:
TWO SEMINARS (BOTH IN A2002)

Midday: Dr. Ginestra Bianconi (School of Mathematics, Queen Mary University of London, ginestra.bianconi@gmail.com)
Title: Structure and Dynamics of Multilayer Networks. (abstract)
(Contact: davide.cellai@ul.ie)

4pm: Dr. Paul Dunlop (Environmental Sciences Research Institute, University of Ulster, p.dunlop@ulster.ac.uk)
Title: Reconstructing the glacial history of Ireland's continental margin.
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 20th February:
Dr. Alireza Soroudi (School of Electrical, Electronic and Communications Engineering, UCD, alireza.soroudi@ucd.ie)
Title: Decision making under uncertainty in energy systems. (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 27th February:
Dr. Giuseppe Zurlo (Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, giuseppe.zurlo@nuigalway.ie)
Title: Modelling of electroactive polymers as artificial muscles and energy harvesters. (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 6th March:
Dr. Eugene Kashdan (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCD, eugene.kashdan@ucd.ie)
Title: Modelling Bladder Cancer: initiation, progression, treatment. (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 13th March:
Pol Colomer-de-Simón (Physics and Computation of Complex Systems, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Title: Bond percolation on complex networks. (abstract)
(Contact: ali.faqeeh@ul.ie)

Friday 20th March:
Prof. Michel Destrade (Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, michel.destrade@nuigalway.ie)
Title: Elastic Waves and Static Wrinkles in Soft Solids. (abstract)
(Contact: ricardo.barros@ul.ie)

Friday 27th March:
Dr. Niall Madden (Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, niall.madden@nuigalway.ie)
Title: Sparse grid finite element methods in two and three dimensions. (abstract)
(Contact: alan.hegarty@ul.ie)

Tuesday 31st March:
Prof. Wooyoung Choi (Department of Mathematical Sciences, Center for Applied Mathematics and Statistics, New Jersey Institute of Technology, wychoi@njit.edu)
Title: Highly nonlinear wave motions in the ocean - How accurately can simple mathematical models describe them? (abstract)
(Contact: ricardo.barros@ul.ie)

Friday 10th April:
TBA

Monday 20th April:
AT 2pm:
Dr. Mika Rubinov (Brain Mapping Unit, Department of Psychiatry, University of Cambridge, mr572@cam.ac.uk)
Title: Organizational principles of the large-scale mammalian brain connectome (abstract)
(Contact: sergey.melnik@ul.ie)

Friday 24th April:
Dr. Michelle Carey (Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology, University of Rochester Medical Center, Michelle_Carey@URMC.Rochester.edu)
Title: Dynamic network construction for high-dimensional time course gene expression data (abstract)
(Contact: eugene.gath@ul.ie)

Friday 1st May:
NO SEMINAR

Friday 8th May:
NO SEMINAR

Friday 15th May:
AT 2pm
Dr. Nikos Savva (School of Mathematics, Cardiff University, UK, SavvaN@cardiff.ac.uk)
Title: Dynamics of partially wetting droplets (abstract)
(Contact: eugene.benilov@ul.ie)

Friday 22nd May:
Dr. Michael Vynnycky (Division of Casting of Metals, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, michaelv@kth.se)
Title: PAT-asymptotics for pharmaceutical freeze-drying (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)


Supported by Science Foundation Ireland funding, MACSI - the Mathematics Applications Consortium for Science and Industry, centred at the University of Limerick, is dedicated to the mathematical modelling and solution of problems which arise in science, engineering and industry in Ireland.