MACSI Seminar Series

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UL

Spring Semester 2015


The MACSI seminars are held in the Mathematics and Statistics department at the University of Limerick. They take place in the MACSI meeting room A2002, Main Building, Fridays at 4 p.m. unless stated otherwise. An overhead projector and projection equipment are available in the seminar room.

Speakers may direct queries to their immediate contact person or the MACSI administrator (peg.hanrahan@ul.ie). There is visitor car-parking available on campus: speakers can either advise their contact person who will make a reservation or email (VisitorParking@ul.ie) directly.


Friday 30th January:
Prof. Alex Bentley (Department of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of Bristol, UK, R.A.Bentley@bristol.ac.uk)
Title: Neutral social learning and collective behaviour (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 6th February:
Dr. Paul Dunlop (Environmental Sciences Research Institute, University of Ulster, p.dunlop@ulster.ac.uk)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 13th February:
Dr. Gift Nyamundanda (Institute of Cancer Research (ICR), Division of Molecular Pathology, Surrey, UK, gnyamundanda@gmail.com)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: kevin.hayes@ul.ie)

Friday 20th February:
Dr. Alireza Soroudi (School of Electrical, Electronic and Communications Engineering, UCD, alireza.soroudi@ucd.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 27th February:
Dr. Giuseppe Zurlo (Department of Mathematics, Statistics, And Applied Mathematics, NUIG, giuseppe.zurlo@nuigalway.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 6th March:
Dr. Eugene Kashdan (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCD, eugene.kashdan@ucd.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 13th March:
Pol Colomer-de-Simón (Physics and Computation of Complex Systems, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: ali.faqeeh@ul.ie)

Friday 20th March:
TBA

Friday 27th March:
Dr. Niall Madden (Department of Mathematics, Statistics, And Applied Mathematics, NUIG, niall.madden@nuigalway.ie)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: alan.hegarty@ul.ie)

Friday 10th April:
TBA

Friday 17th April:
TBA

Friday 24th April:
TBA

Friday 15th May:
Dr. Nikos Savva (School of Mathematics, Cardiff University, UK, SavvaN@cardiff.ac.uk)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: eugene.benilov@ul.ie)


Supported by Science Foundation Ireland funding, MACSI - the Mathematics Applications Consortium for Science and Industry, centred at the University of Limerick, is dedicated to the mathematical modelling and solution of problems which arise in science, engineering and industry in Ireland.