MACSI Seminar Series

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UL

Spring Semester 2016


The MACSI seminars are held in the Mathematics and Statistics department at the University of Limerick. They take place in the MACSI meeting room A2002, Main Building, Fridays at 4 p.m. unless stated otherwise. An overhead projector and projection equipment are available in the seminar room.

Speakers may direct queries to their immediate contact person or the MACSI administrator (peg.hanrahan@ul.ie). There is visitor car-parking available on campus: speakers can either advise their contact person who will make a reservation or email (VisitorParking@ul.ie) directly.


Friday 29th January:
Dr. John MacKenzie (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Strathclyde, UK, j.a.mackenzie@strath.ac.uk)
Title: A Computational Method for the Coupled Solution of Reaction-Diffusion Equations on Evolving Domains and Surfaces: Application to a Model of Cell Migration and Chemotaxis (abstract)
(Contact: natalia.kopteva@ul.ie)

Friday 5th February:
Prof. Allan Greenleaf (Department of Mathematics, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA allan@math.rochester.edu)
Title: Propagation and recovery of singularities in the inverse conductivity problem (abstract)
(Contact: clifford.nolan@ul.ie)

Friday 12th February:
Prof. Paolo Guasoni (School of Mathematical Sciences, DCU, paolo.guasoni@dcu.ie)
Title: Healthcare and Consumption with Aging (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 19th February:
Dr. Spyridon Dendrinos (School of Mathematical Sciences, UCC, sd@ucc.ie)
Title: On boundedness properties of the restricted X-ray transform (abstract)
(Contact: romina.gaburro@ul.ie)

Friday 26th February:
Prof. Marian Holness (Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK, marian@esc.cam.ac.uk)
Title: The microstructural record of fluid dynamics in igneous intrusions (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 4th March:
Dr. Martin Meere (Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, martin.meere@nuigalway.ie)
Title: Some Mathematical Models for Drug Delivery from Polymeric Devices (abstract)
(Contact: tuoi.vo@ul.ie)

Friday 11th March:
Dr. Neil O'Leary (Centre For Medical Gerontology, School of Medicine, TCD, olearyne@tcd.ie)
Title: The Implications of Differential Clustering for the Analysis of Binary Outcomes in Cluster Randomised Trials (abstract)
(Contact: cathal.walsh@ul.ie)

Friday 18th March:
Prof. Robert Kerr (Mathematics Institute, University of Warwick, UK, Robert.Kerr@warwick.ac.uk)
Title: Simulated Navier-Stokes trefoil reconnection (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 1st April:
Prof. Barbara Wagner (Institut für Mathematik, Technische Universität Berlin, bwagner@math.tu-berlin.de)
Title: Concentrated suspensions: A multiscale analysis (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie) TBA

Friday 8th April:
Dr. Eva Sincich (Department of Mathematics and Geosciences, Universita degli Studi di Trieste, Italy, esincich@units.it)
Title: Lipschitz stability for the inverse conductivity problem (abstract)
(Contact: romina.gaburro@ul.ie)

Friday 15th April:
Dr. Ian Hewitt (Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, hewitt@maths.ox.ac.uk)
Title: Homogenisation and resonance effects in Faraday cages (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Monday 18th April:
Prof. Laurence Gill (Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, TCD, laurence.gill@tcd.ie)
Title: The development of a hydraulic/hydrogeological model of a lowland karst network using analysis of water levels in ephemeral groundwater-fed lakes (abstract)
(Contact: andrew.fowler@ul.ie)

Friday 22nd April:
Dr. James Cruickshank (Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, james.cruickshank@nuigalway.ie)
Title: Geometric Rigidity Theory (abstract)
(Contact: james.gleeson@ul.ie)

Friday 6th May:
Michael Coughlan (School of Mathematics, University of Manchester, UK, mcoughlan28@gmail.com)
Title: What L-ice Beneath: Meteorites, Antarctica and Stefan Problems (abstract)
(Contact: david.osullivan@ul.ie)

Thursday 19th May:
Dr. Cameron Hall (Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, UK, hall@maths.ox.ac.uk)
Title: Chains and rings of spherical magnets (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 20th May:
Dr. Michael Vynnycky (Division Processes, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, michaelv@kth.se)
Title: Electromagnetic stirring and the continuous casting of steel (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Friday 3rd June:
Prof. Andreas Münch (Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics, NUIG, Andreas.Muench@maths.ox.ac.uk)
Title: TBA (abstract)
(Contact: sarah.mitchell@ul.ie)

Thursday 9th June:
Prof. Eckhard Platen (School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, University of Technology, Sydney, Eckhard.Platen@uts.edu.au)
Title: Benchmark Approach to Finance (abstract)
(Contact: alan.hegarty@ul.ie)


Supported by Science Foundation Ireland funding, MACSI - the Mathematics Applications Consortium for Science and Industry, centred at the University of Limerick, is dedicated to the mathematical modelling and solution of problems which arise in science, engineering and industry in Ireland.